top of page
Search
  • hoenesal

Lake Oahe Cont'd

Updated: Sep 15, 2021

Two days ago, Hank learned a tough lesson about messing with the local wildlife. Amazingly, he sat there and let me pull each quill out.

Yesterday, we started in North Dakota and ended south of the border!


Life changes, everything looks different when you cross the line from North to South Dakota. Not really. But it did seem a bit monumental. I'm through the two biggest states and just over 1/3 of the way to the Gulf of Mexico having covered just over 1,100 miles.

LOST:

a tackle box

one mud boot

one poncho

two umbrellas

one bungee tie

15-20 lbs

any concept of date or time

all patience with electronics/technology


GAINED:

delicious strawberry rhubarb jam

four river beers

a bag of fresh melon

two koozies

new leash for Hank

my new favorite sweatshirt

fresh garden corn on the cob

tiger meat (Hack for those down south)

the opportunity to paddle different types of water than I'm used to (I enjoy reading the water)

a new knowledge and appreciation for the paddling community

a new understanding of how natural elements work with one another (sometimes against us)

an extensive test of wits and stamina


I could list so many other things gained, but the greatest surprise and joy of the trip are so many new friends that I'm meeting along the way. They've helped with portages, resupply, great conversation and much needed encouragement. I'll be forever grateful.

Lake Oahe requires encouragement, no doubt about it. I'm five days in, not to Mobridge yet and faced with several days of headwind. What do you do when you're bored on the lake shore all day waiting for the wind to die down?



278 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EXCERPT #3

Storm Clouds Gather Faced with falling temperatures, I knew the show must go on. I backtracked to Boonville by highway on Sunday, Oct. 24, 2021, and relaunched the canoe. Hank and I hit a rain shower,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page