top of page
Search
  • hoenesal

Lake Sakakawea...done.

It's been far too long since I've posted, and apologies for that. You know we all have excuses. Long story short, a couple days with no signal, some cloudy/stormy days (I'm on solar), and worst of all, I unintentionally performed a factory reset on my phone.


I'm still assessing what was lost, but pictures, texts, and apps were unavailable for a time. Hate that I can't share all, but here are a few tidbits:




Lake Sakakawea was every bit as challenging as everyone said, mentally and physically. I did get a couple of good sailing days with a tail wind which got me to the finish in 8 days,so beat my Fort Peck time.


The wind and waves are no joke. A couple times, I even got a little motion sickness. Three days ago brought wind, big 5 ft breaking waves and 52 degrees. I made it to just shy of Dakota Waters resort and marina in Beulah, ND when this weather hit. So glad I had Dave Miller's book to reference to call them. Thank you to Thomas and Amber for their help and hospitality!


We spent the day and night there out of the rain, got a hot shower, laundry done, and terrific food and company. It's every bit of 18 miles from Dakota Waters to the dam. I arrived two days ago barely before dark (and barely feeling human) after a 12 hour day, again working around the wind. Thank you to Nate and his dad, Mike and their crew at Sakakawea Sunset Lodge in Riverdale, ND for such great hospitality and company as well. After a day of rest, I'm excited to get back on the river with current, sunshine and mild temps!

188 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page