top of page
Search
  • hoenesal

Oahe Done!!!

9/11

With any luck, the day's winds might help me get close to finishing this lake...at least that's how my thinking started. For those who like variety, there was sailing, hard paddling and walking multiple times throughout. It wasn't a bad day though.

There were two horseshoe bends to navigate and then a 6 mile stretch to the portage point. 27 miles total. With NE winds, I knew some of it would be into the wind, but I thought if I just angled the sail enough, I might be able to use it. It worked most of the way.

Made it 21 miles before the wind shoved me protesting into the west shore 5 miles before finishing. Too tired to fish or even make a fire, I set up camp and was out by 7:45, only to be woken up by a midnight rain that wasn't in the forecast. Ah, well...


9/12

Up at 6:45, on the water by 7:30, I was briskly met by the forecast ESE wind as I rounded the point we were on.

It was a very hard, cold and frustrating 5 miles, but I've not seen many sights sweeter than this boat ramp.

You'd think finish the lake, sit down and crack a beer, right? Not yet. I planned to walk this Portage. The longest of the next 5, this would give me confidence and show me what I could expect.



2.94 miles later, and a couple moderately large hills, Hank and I were both beyond exhausted and soooooo grateful for the help we received at the Oahe Downstream Recreation Area. Thank you to Sally, Paul, Travis, Melissa and Justin!!

Looking forward to a day to recoup, resupply,and sit out more rain🙄

133 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page