top of page
Search
  • hoenesal

The Basics

A little bit of info about the different logistics while we wait...to start with the basics:


Food

Maybe to state the obvious, it is too much weight to carry a 100 days' supply of food in the canoe. To overcome this, my parents have graciously agreed to mail 10-12 resupply kits to periodic USPS locations accessible from the river. To save on weight in the canoe and in the mail, I'm learning how to dehydrate my own food.


Water

There are so many options these days for water purification. How many though can handle the heavy heavy sediment of the Missouri and Mississippi rivers? Had to make a call, so I elected to try the Sawyer Products SP129 Squeeze Water Filtration System and water purification tabs as an emergency backup (also planning on trying a natural gravel/sand/charcoal filter). I am carrying two 6-gallon water jugs just in case, but as long as my water filters hold out, these should primarily act as additional buoyancy in the event of capsizing.


Shelter

An extra tent will be in a resupply kit about halfway through. This is based on feedback from the very few who have made this trip that their tents wore out. Imagine popping your tent up a few times a summer. This trip would then be the equivalent of 30 years of recreational camping...now I'm wondering if two will be enough. I'll be using a sleeping mat and bag that I've used in back country hunting. I'm also exploring potential configurable top of canoe platforms for camping/sleeping. More to come on that.


Dog care

I enjoy my own company fine, but I'm under no false pretenses that this trip will be brutal and at times, lonely. I'm happy to welcome Hank, my second dog, into my life at a perfect time and I'll welcome the protection and companionship. It does however, introduce additional logistics. I've calculated the dry food he needs over the last three weeks and rationed amounts of that to purchase ahead and include with my resupply packages. He'll sleep near or with me no doubt, no problem there. Training is the most important though...trying to get him under voice command for a couple key thing in the next month.


More to come!!

116 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page