top of page
Search
  • hoenesal

Upper Missouri River Breaks



7/22

Every bend seems more amazing than the last. The colors are so unique, but it is mostly rocky formations and sandy shale prairie. I heard L&C reported this as 'broken' because it wasn't usable for anything.🤔


Surprise pop up storm last night. Found out that my tent is not in fact waterproof as advertised. Covered it with a tarp which held despite the wind's best efforts. The storm went on until about 11, and finally fell asleep.


Slow start today, didn't get on the river until 10 and met with constant head winds and finally another storm around 4 pm that forced me to pull out of the water. Today is what I don't want mileage-wise, but at least still making positive progress.


Watched a young coyote chasing grasshoppers on shore and met a new friend who handed me a cold beer and fresh honeydew melon. Refreshing! 👍😊



When I landed on a gravel bar, there was no wind. I lay out the tarp and pop up the tent, and just as I reach for the stakes, a massive gust of wind picks my tent right up Wizard of Oz-style. It drops about 20 yards away, right into a swirling cesspool of stagnant river water, animal waste and who knows what else. This is what it's all about, right?


7/23

Another storm at 3 am! I'm mostly happy the gear is holding up, but ready for a break from these storms.


Left the Breaks today and ended up 14 miles from Fort Peck lake.


Today, the landscape changed from rocky bluffs, gravel bars and willow and cottonwood groves to dirt, mud and willow and cottonwood groves. I've never seen so many beaver dens. In fact, that's the only wildlife I saw today besides the standard bugs and birds.


Between the heat, storms, headwinds and bugs it was getting a little frustrating. Every once in a while though, there is a day like today...milder temps and a tail wind most of the day. Sailed through 32 miles and it was a joy.


7/24

Bring it on Fort Peck Lake! Made it to the 'official' start of the lake half way through the day. Beautiful day alternating sailing and stand up paddling. Liking my options and configurability. If I had it to do again, I'd only make it quicker and easier to handle the sail from inside the canoe while floating.


Scared up a herd of elk bedded in the hills. Hadn't seen any elk yet and they're one of my favorites, so that was a highlight. Too far to get pics though😣


🙏🙏maybe they'll visit my camp tonight or tomorrow...



114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page