top of page
Search
  • hoenesal

What now?

The most common question I've gotten while on this portion of my road trip is, "So, where will you end up next?". At some point in the near future, I'll have to look at my next career move and decide the answer to that question. But first, if you read the background blurb you know that I'm planning a bit of a river trip first. As I finish this last leg of the road trip, I wanted to start the river trip blog to give some insights into the next month of final preparation and practice runs.


It's a huge undertaking and honestly, I'm kind of glad I don't have to balance a job at the same time. For those not already aware, I'm planning to float with my dog in a canoe from the Missouri river headwaters in Three Forks, MT all the way down to the outlet of the Mississippi into the Gulf of Mexico. I have no idea if I'll be successful, but it's been a bucket list item for years. I figured if not now, then when?


My Dad taught us the five Ps (the 7 Ps once we were older): Prior Planning Prevents Poor Performance. So, the success of this trip, in my mind, hinges on how well I'm able to plan and prepare for the the many unknown factors.


For the last six months, I've been reviewing satellite imagery, plotting re-supply points, and researching the gear I will need. I'm learning how to de-hydrate my own food and retrofitting our old canoe with a sail and stabilizers for the trip.


In the end though, you can't possibly plan for everything, and it's when we get the opportunity to respond to these unknowns that we grow. In the Marine Corps, we are known for doing the most with the least resources. To do this, you have to get very creative sometimes. This is my jam.





178 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page